Heat, Hills, & Humidity

It’s Friday and as I’m now self-diagnosed as fully recovered from my first ultramarathon I return to my normal training distance of 21.1 km on Friday mornings. This morning though I’m training in the midst of a Toronto heat wave. The temperatures this week have routinely topped 40 degrees Celsius in the height of day when you factor in the humidity. Having just gotten in Breakfast Television tells me that what I ran in was 28 degrees but feels like 34. I’m still testing out new accessories by way of my Sundog Bolt sunglasses which feature polarization and helps me to deal with the bright rising morning sun as I head east along Bloor.

Today  I did a bit of city exploring on my training run and have always wanted to know where on the western end of the city does Harbord Street end. The answer? This tony street of restos, boutique shops, and quiet neighbourhoods on the cusp of the Annex ends at Ossington. I’ve reached kilometre 5.

I’m still testing out new accessories by way of my Sundog Bolt sunglasses which feature polarization and helps me to deal with the bright rising morning sun as I head east along Bloor.  They work fantastically though I will have to get used to carrying the sunglasses as I wipe the sweat off my face while running.

Heading north on Bay Street I rejoin an old and familiar route that will take me on a challenging uphill on Poplar Plains as I head to St. Clair Avenue. Beautiful, picturesque, and uber rich, I call this route the Greg route as I discovered it with one of my running buds a couple of years ago. Truth be known we were a bit lost and wanted to know exactly when and where this hill of death would end.

Rounding my way southbound on Spadina I run through some residential sprinklers that are overshooting their mark and landing not only on the sidewalk but the road beyond. Normally a bane of mine as it affects people who don’t want to get drenched, however in today’s humidity I’m more forgiving. Actually I’m grateful. Kilometre 12 has been reached.

I’m now more than half way home and the heat continues to climb. I dip into my supply of electrolyte-infused water by way of “Sport Twist Tubes”, an Amway product that a client of mine provides in a barter arrangement for massage therapy treatments. The taste is refreshing and it’s helping to beat the elements and finish my run as strongly as possible.

As I near home I’m starting to pick up the pace. My Garmin shows a time of 2:00:14.8. Given the aforementioned Heat, Hills, and Humidity, I’m good with this. Plus my concierge thinks I have a sexy body.

 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

