What’s Love Got To Do With It?

Image

As an endurance athlete I’m often asked about what the toughest part of staying fit is. Is it the training? Is it the diet? Is it getting up every morning at 5 a.m? No. In all honesty it’s leaving my sweetheart behind curled up in bed.

As I mentioned in the “About Me” section of my blog I am blessed with a wonderfully supportive and understanding partner. You see we met the day after my very first race so he’s only known me as a runner. He’s used to my training and race schedule and he knows how much running means to me. But that doesn’t always make it easier to leave him behind. Not only does he look so comfy snuggled up under the covers of a warm bed on a cold dark morning when I may have a 35 km run ahead of me, but it’s tough knowing that with our busy schedules that I’m missing out on 3 or more hours of quality time with the one I love.

Perhaps though running is one of the secrets of our relationship. Maybe it keeps me sane enough that I’m loveable. Maybe the time apart makes us appreciate eachother even more. Who knows? But I will say this. For all the accomplishments I have as a runner, my relationship with my significant other is the aspect of my life of which I am most proud.

(The pic above are sugar cookies I made for my sweetheart on Valentines Day)

Leave a Reply

