Playing Hooky — How I Turned a Planned 10k Into 22k

ImageThe wind was calm. The sun was just starting to peak above the horizon. And the temperatures were ideal for a run. Truth be known I’ve been wanting to play hooky and scrap an upper body strength training session in favour of an extended run for a few days now. Today, like a kid seeing perfect weather to play outside on a school day, I did just that.

I know that being an athlete is about discipline and dedication. But being an athlete is also about having fun and doing what we love. So I laced up. Put on my trusty yet lately temperamental Garmin and stepped out into the dawn. Giddy with the excitement of being naughty my pace was brisk, my steps crisp. I made my way to the harbourfront and raced alongside the kayakers as the sun set the sails of the boats in the harbour aglow. Today was a morning that felt like I was flying. A precious reminder of the health and vitality that we as runners sometimes lose track of in our quest to push ourselves harder and our dismay at falling short of our self-imposed goals.

I didn’t want my run to end and because I was out much earlier than I would normally be I had the luxury of time. Time to reflect. Time to revel in the quietude of nature. And time to keep running. Before I knew it I had ran 22 km in a time faster than many of my half marathons.

What a great way to start my day.

3 comments

  1. Marcella · · Reply

    Two thumbs up!!

  2. Awesome!!! I am into fitness myself and I am actually about to do a 5-mile military course in September. Guess I have to get my cardio up and tips?

  3. Thanks Marcella!

    Anthony, congratulations and best of luck! The most important thing is to be consistent and gradually build on your current running. Depending on your experience and your current level of fitness, you may want to build walking into your running to help you recover and then to push on. This might mean 5 or 10 minutes of running followed by 1 minute of walking. Or it could mean getting yourself 2.5 miles into your run taking a minute to walk and recover and then finishing up the last half on the run. Being consistent with your training will help you reap dividends faster. Being gradual with your training will help you to avoid injuries that would derail your training and potentially leave you at home come race day. Hope this helps! And please keep me posted on how things are going 🙂

Leave a Reply

