A Valentine’s Run For Heart and Stroke, The Follow-Up

After months of preparation, The Valentine’s Run For Heart & Stroke in honour of my father is less than 3 weeks away!

I had to re-establish a web page with the Heart & Stroke Foundation as the previous one had been disabled with their fiscal year-end. To everyone who has donated and/or showed your support for my father and for me, I can’t thank you enough.

My Life As an Ultra Marathon Runner

Last Friday I posted about my intention to celebrate my 42.2nd birthday by running a charity marathon in honour of my father.

https://runrodrun.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/a-valentines-run-for-the-heart-stroke-foundation/

Today I heard back from the Heart and Stroke Foundation and they’ve set up a donation page for me. I’ve spent the bulk of my day trying to personalize this page and the email I’ll be sending out to promote this Valentine’s Run.

How do I tug on people’s heartstrings without being overly sappy? How much money is a reasonable goal for me to strive for? How do I say what I want to say when my emotions keep getting in my way? I struggle with all of these things and more. But I think I’ve got everything to sound and look the way I want it to.

And where eloquence may prove elusive I’m hoping genuineness will more than compensate.

Image

“Do you miss your dad?”. I…

View original post 281 more words

Leave a Reply

