Ode To Spring

Image

Spring is in the air. The weather is warmer. The buds are blooming. And the morning sun rises a little earlier with each passing day. It’s a time of year when I can just run. No layering. And on the opposite end of the temperature spectrum, no worries of overheating either.

In addition to all of this, I am in the midst of an 8 week hiatus from heavy training. My spring marathon is done and I’m not in another marathon until October. No more pressure on time or distance. No more hill training. For now I run for the sheer enjoyment of running.

Because of this, today felt care-free and light. Having shrugged off any heaviness and fatigue from my last marathon and before donning the cloak of self-imposed expectation in anticipation of my next marathon, I took to the dewy damp streets of downtown Toronto. During a period when its sleepiness was still in effect and I could run largely unimpeded by pedestrian and vehicle alike.

I picked up my knees, using a new technique to maximize speed and efficiency. Trying to make things second nature by the time the autumn rolls around. But without needing it to be a successful transition just yet. Instead, I let it be fun. I was playing.

No longer able to contain my happiness, my face yielded to the smile that was bubbling forth and I reveled in the feeling of the breeze whipping through my hair. No pressures and no worries. Just a genuine celebration of life in springtime. If I was fast I was fast.

And today, I was fast.

2 comments

  1. shawnasob · · Reply

    Early daylight is such a refreshing pick me up. Play on!

    1. Consider it done Shawn!

Leave a Reply

