Mango Swirl Mochiko Cake with Brown Sugar Streusel : The Reinvention of a Filipino Favourite

Image

Coconut milk and Mochiko brand sweet rice flour conspire for ooey gooey tropical goodness in the filipino classic dessert, the Bebinka.

Growing up the familiar branding of Mochiko – its stark white box, distinctive red lettering, and familiar navy star always meant one thing to me. Delectable bebinka. Which in our family we somehow re-christened as the Mochiko Cake.

Sadly the Mochiko brand has went strangely missing from my familiar haunts of Toronto’s Spadina Chinatown. Luckily my mother still has a source in Scarborough and she very graciously furnished me with a prized box on a recent visit.

With this relative rarity I felt I needed to do something special. Although the traditional Mochiko cake is plenty good on its own I wanted to do something more.

And more is exactly what I did. By swirling through a mango puree and topping this bad boy with a brown sugar streusel, I’ve put my own contemporary stamp on this traditional treat.

2 comments

  1. This looks so nice!

    1. Thanks Sophie 🙂 The problem is it tastes good too!!! Had to give most of it away or I’d be having to buy bigger clothes for the summer :p

Leave a Reply

