Chasing Gold

I’ve been running well. In training. I have been for several months now. But the health concerns which dogged my effort at the Goodlife Fitness Toronto Marathon in May have left my race results wanting.

(For my race report on The Goodlife Marathon, please see Dangerous Beauty — https://runrodrun.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/dangerous-beauty/ ).

I am in search of redemption.

Next Tuesday’s Grimsby Peach Bud 10K event will be an all-out sprint with no time to make up any ground should my speed falter. Though not an ultra or a marathon, this distance is absolutely unforgiving. It is punishing as it demands an intensity and a tireless anaerobic capacity that I seldom summon in races. And it will help me determine just where I stand in my preparations for the greater distances.

The route promises to be flat. And though its placement as a midweek evening race leaves me in unfamiliar territory, there is added incentive to salve my burdened lungs.

A gold medal is awarded to the top 100 finishers.

A silver to the next 100.

And a bronze to the remainder of the field.

I want a gold. I crave a gold. And I know I can earn a gold.

I’ve checked the times for the last 3 years and determined that if I run well, a gold is mine.

Hold a good thought.

Digital Image Sales

10 comments

  1. I have no doubt that a gold will be yours. What time would you need to have qualified in previous years?

    1. Thanks Raymond! The slowest gun time from the fastest year was 45:28.3. It by no means will be a cakewalk for me, but it is very possible.

      Are you racing Grandma’s again this year? I saw something in my FB Feed πŸ™‚

      1. I will never EVER run Grandma’s again. By pure coincidence, my Flashback Friday tomorrow is my Grandma’s Marathon race recap. Check it out to see why (sorry for the shameless plug…)

  2. Interestingly, in my last 10K, had they done this, I would have had a silver medal. Not bad considering that I do not view myself as fast, and the field was over 3600 runners. I know your PR is 41:xx at this distance…that would have placed you in the 35th spot in that race. I think top 100 may be a conservative goal for you… πŸ˜‰

    1. Well you have been racing fantastically! Hopefully it will rub off on me πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Kristi! Are you in Vancouver for your race?

      1. Not yet, just finishing up the last of the packing. Finished work today, let the summer holidays begin! (One of the best perks of being a teacher)

  3. Raymond, you have definitely created a cliffhanger with your comment on Grandma’s! I am eagerly staying tuned for your next post on http://roadtomadison.wordpress.com/

    You are always welcome to plug your blog.

  4. Safe trip Kristi! Good luck! And have fun πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

