The Grac(i)e Period

About a week ago my cousin Gracie asked me if I had a recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies and sadly I had to say “no”. I loved the concept. I mean Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are an old fave of mine! But as crazy as it may seem, I never thought of chocolate and peanut butter going together in cookie form. I did love the idea though!

So it sat with me for days. Percolating away in my subconscious until I finally figured out a way to make them.

I have this incredible recipe for chocolate spice cookies that I once used to make safari animal shaped cookies for a special dinner when my African travel mates visited us from Norway. It’s been 3 years, and for them 2 kids since! But I do remember how much I enjoyed those cookies. And how easy they were to make.

That’s when it hit me! I could tinker with that recipe and make it my own.

Obviously the spices had to go. They wouldn’t work for that classic Chocolate Peanut Butter combo anyway. And the original recipe was in need of extra sugar. Maybe a personal taste. But since I’m making this my own, then more sugar it is. And that sugar is going to be brown sugar, for extra richness, extra comfort, and because I say so.

That’s the thing about grace periods isn’t it? It’s a suspension of reality where all the rules go out the window.

I would then make a peanut butter ganache and dip the revamped chocolate cookie into the ganache before coating the cookie with chopped peanuts.

And here we have it, my Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie:

Image

ROD’S CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES

112 grams all-purpose flour
125 grams cocoa powder
172 grams unsalted butter, softened
130 grams brown sugar
1 large egg

Stir together the flour and cocoa in a small bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl beat the butter and sugar on medium speed until combined. This should take about a minute. Reduce speed to low and add the egg, mixing until thoroughly incorporated. Gradually add the cocoa-flour mixture until a soft dough is formed.

Scrape the dough into a ball and flatten this ball into a disc between two pieces of parchment paper. Roll the dough to 1/4″ thick and chill for 4 hours or overnight.

After the dough has chilled, take the dough out of the fridge and  preheat the oven to 350F.

Cut out the cookies using a 2″ diameter cookie cutter and bake at 350F for 15 minutes.

Cool the cookies thoroughly.

 

Peanut Butter Ganache

1/4 cup whipping cream

65 grams Reese’s Peanut Butter Chips

Heat the whipping cream over medium heat until bubbles form. Now pour the heated cream over the peanut butter chips in a small bowl and stir the mixture until all the chips are melted. Let this cool for about 5 minutes so it’s a little easier to handle.

Dip the cookies into the ganache and then dip these “ganached” cookies into the chopped peanuts.

Makes 36 cookies.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

