Can I Carb Load Now?

I’ve got another evening race. In 2 days. A short one. Again. One that taxes my nerves because of its brevity. Again. And being in the evening I’m feeling a little out of sorts. Again.

This one is the Eaton Downtown Dash 5k in Burlington. Another home-town feel event as Burlington is where my partner spent much of his youth. His father still calls it home and he may be out to cheer us on.

In the meantime I’m not quite certain how to prepare. I’m not exactly tapering. And I don’t really need to carb load. But I do need some fueling for the race. Although I’m not gunning for a new personal best, I do want to turn in a time I can be proud of.

So how about a compromise?

Fusilli

Taking stock, I found the refrigerator crisper laden with farmer’s market grape tomatoes, green onions, and oyster markets from Chinatown. I also still had a quarter of a bottle of white wine left over from a friend’s birthday and some light cream. For some heat I mixed together cayenne, paprika, onion flakes, garlic powder, black pepper, and just a pinch of salt. My pantry boasted one sole offering of fusilli that would most certainly do. A little olive oil, some parmesan, and I was good to go.

Fusilli Al Rod Lowe

Serves 4-6; Prep Time: 5 minutes; Cooking Time: 20 minutes (al dente)

1 pint of grape tomatoes

2 green onions

1 cup of oyster mushrooms

1 cup of dry white wine

1 cup light (5%) cream

1/4 tsp each of cayenne, paprika, onion flakes, garlic powder, black pepper

Dash of salt

250 grams fusilli

Grated Parmesan to taste (optional)

 

Stir fry tomatoes, green onions, and mushrooms in a drizzle of oil over medium high heat. When cooked add white wine and allow liquid to boil down for 5 minutes. Add light cream, spices, and pasta; stirring until the fusilli is coated. Reduce heat to low and cover. Stir occasionally until pasta is cooked to desired tenderness and most of the sauce has been absorbed into the noodles. Serve with parmesan if desired.

2 comments

  1. If we lived in the same city I’d be finding ways to get my family invited to your place for dinner on a regular basis 🙂
    Good luck with the 5k!

    1. Thanks Kristi! There’d never be a question of you and yours being welcome. There may be a question of where we’d fit everyone in my tiny apartment. But I’m sure we can all squeeze in 🙂

Leave a Reply

