Keeping A Rein On Things

But I had to put all of that aside. Sometimes you have to lose the battle to win the war.

I’ve been running well in training. And doing so while pushing my distances and frequency. Currently I’m working on a Hansons-inspired 6 day a week running schedule. A far cry more than the 4 day a week running regime I’ve managed for over 2 years.

So I suppose it’s understandable that today, as I took to the roads for the 5th day in a row — a first for me — that I was starting to feel the effects of the increased training. I know that’s the explanation I’d offer for anyone else in my position. However I often fall guilty of holding myself up to standards that are somewhat harsh if not downright unrealistic.

My pride wanted me to push the pace. To uphold my own lofty expectations. But I had to put all of that aside. Sometimes you have to lose the battle to win the war. I needed to permit myself a chance to recover. After all, what good is it to run impressively in training if it costs me in a race?

So today I meandered. At over a minute per kilometre slower than usual, my pace was  deliberately methodical. And that was tough. Not merely on my ego. But on my patience as well. I felt I should be further along.

Which of course I normally would be.

 

2 comments

  1. There are so many different theories and approaches to training, it can make your head spin. There is an article floating on FB today discussing that long runs are bad for you (harm after 3 hours, no benefit after 90 minutes). The argument is that you get benefit from exercising fatigue muscles…so run daily with tired legs is the takeaway message.

    As someone who is training for an Ironman triathlon, so I have been swimming/biking/running 6 days a week for the last 24 weeks. The training is almost all slow with low heart rates (aerobic training with HR in z1-z2. Z3 is avoided, and less then 10% at z4. I admit that I likely have <5% at z4. So, I have done next to no speed training at all. I was shocked to get back to back PBs in the Half Ironman distance, followed by the 5k. The Half wasn't a big surprise, but the 5k was a shock considering my training was all endurance and no speed.

    When I was discussing this on FB, another triathlete commented "At high tide, all ships rise". The point was that increased run volume and fitness will improve your running ability across the board.

    Don't beat yourself up over your speed. You increased your frequency by 50% overnight. That will take your body some time to get used too…

  2. Thanks Raymond! Actually the methodology that I’m (kinda sorta) incorporating is the one that relies on “cumulative fatigue” and espouses that your long run should never be more than 25 km and should only be done every other week.

    I’m not sure where I’ll end up with my training but I’m guessing I’ll be doing cumulative fatigue into 21.1-25 km, day off, and then long run of 32 km when peaking.

    So either I’ll cover my bases by adhering to two main training regimes for marathon success. OR I’ve just put together the worst of both worlds!

Leave a Reply

