And They All Lived Happily Ever After

The dark skies aloft were tempered by the glow of the early dawn’s half moon. And as a soft breeze stirred the fallen leaves, so too did my feet begin to stir as I started forth on my morning run. On the surface the day begins as many others over my years as a runner. But today is indeed different. It is my first run in as long as I can remember where there is no goal. Except for that of rekindling the simplicity of merely running.

For you see I have no more races this year. Moreover, I have yet to enter a race in 2015. That will all change soon enough. But for now I am in a state of quietude. A chance to catch my breath, regroup, and recharge for whatever lays ahead.

When I awoke I spotted the edge of my most recent race bib. Number 61 in this past Sunday’s Ottawa Fall Colours Marathon. The race took place on a placid stretch of historical land abounding with mountainous hills and dotted with red farmhouses and radiant fall-hued trees. Much to my happy surprise I would place second in my age group, claiming silver. And so as the furled edge of bib 61 winked out at me from the opening of my well-beaten napsack, a smile of gentle pride pushed the corners of my mouth upward.

It was a perfect send-off to my race season.

2014 Ottawa Fall Colours Marathon

10 comments

  1. Nice! Body and mind need to rest and recover so enjoy your well earned off season! Mine will be pushed back a ways as my summer triathlon season has ended and I want to push the fall running season as deep as possible. Many events between now and mid-January. Then almost nothing until May…

    1. Thanks Raymond! It’s hard to believer we are already within 10 weeks of the end of 2014. And yet here you are continuing to race strongly. Congratulations on such a great season! And good luck with what is still to come πŸ™‚

  2. shawnasob · · Reply

    Long time no blog…but glad you are back! Congrats on a great result in our Capital.

    1. Thanks Shawn. My result in Ottawa was certainly a nice surprise! How is your recovery and return to running going?

      1. shawnasob · ·

        Hey Rod. Recovery is going well. I’m not 100% there yet but so far I’ve stuck to my plan and have had some good rehab runs with no pain and have kept up my stretching and exercises. I still feel a bit of a tightness in my left glute where the piriformis muscle is when I bend or move a certain way so still being cautious. I will try to bump up my runs to two a week in November but keeping the runs short still and see how that goes. Thanks for asking. Did you run in Toronto this weekend?

  3. I love how you write! I have one more in five weeks and while i look forward to it, i also look forward to that mental sigh! Give me 3 weeks after that and i may be restless for another one!

    1. Thank you so much! What a great compliment πŸ™‚ What race do you have coming up?

      1. City2Sea Melbourne, 15km, which is my favourite distance at this stage (although I am starting to move towards the half being my favourite distance-that’s progress!). It’s nice from the CBD, around Albert Park Lake where they hold car races (don’t ask me what kind of cars?? F1?) and ending at St Kilda beach, where there are massive date palms and a nice cool breeze off the sea at the sweaty stage of the race! It’s spring time here, it could be anything from 20-35 degrees celcius. Hoping for a cool one. Too hot to do any serious racing soon anyway, might have to find some shady trail runs over the summer…. πŸ™‚ Thanks for replying!

  4. Glad to hear that everything is going in the right direction for you Shawn! I always tell my clients to think of things like stretching and exercises to rehab an injury like deposits into a bank account. While activities of daily living, workouts, running, etc. are like withdrawals on that same bank account. When you have a healthy balance in your account then things work well. But if you go into overdraft then that’s when injuries come in. Keep doing those stretches and exercise πŸ™‚

    I actually sat out the Toronto marathon this year. I knew I wouldn’t be recovered enough from last weekend’s marathon to tackle T.O. just yet.

  5. Hey Alison! That sounds like such an idyllic race. I ran in Big Sur California a couple of times and it really is amazing how the beauty of nature can make you forget that you’re even racing. I’ve never raced a 15km event before but have done the 10 miler (16.1km) a few times so I can relate to your sentiments regarding the distance. It really is a really great blend of speed and endurance isn’t it? And congrats on your progress to being more comfortable with the Half! Hope you get some good cool temperatures on race day. Good luck πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

