To New Beginnings

Rod Lowe: Bronze Medalist in the 5000 metre, Silver Medalist in the marathon.

While every word is the God’s honest truth, there are so many qualifications to the above post opener. Like, these are age group awards. At small events. And no one in road racing says “5000 metres”; we say 5k. But still, I rather relish the sound of this post’s introductory declaration.

So please forgive, if not indulge, my pause for swagger and braggadocio. It makes me feel strong. It makes me feel accomplished. Heck it makes me feel Kenyan.

It’s also what I tell myself. What I remind myself to motivate me as the hours of darkness stretch longer. As the temperature drops precipitously. And as the temptation to succumb to the overwhelming desire to stay indoors beckons languorously.

That I am a runner. And a very proud one at that.

It’s the off-season for me now. Has been for over 2 months. And though I’m enjoying running without the pressures of time and distance I have amassed over 1000 kilometres in those couple of months since my last race at the Fall Colours Marathon.

I’m grateful that I have been able to continue to train well and hope that my sustained effort will pay off as we enter a new race season.

My results and training in 2014 rekindled my love for our sport. And they gave me hope that I could still be a better runner.

I want to prove that to myself in 2015.

2013 Niagara Ultra 50 km

Happy Holidays everyone!

7 comments

  1. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Rod, your passion and dedication to running is amazing. Every race, you expect and demand excellence. Your training is laser focused and is showing impressive results time after time. You have a dedication that I try to replicate, and I look to you as a role model. I have no doubt that you will have impressive results in 2015 that will surprise nobody except you. Will it be the top of a podium? A BQ time? A 100 mile buckle? I don’t know, but I look forward to finding out. The one thing that I am certain is that I am looking forward to seeing what you will do next, and be inspired. Merry Christmas Rod…

    1. Wow. I’m speechless. Thank you Raymond. Thank you very very much. Merry Christmas to you too.

  3. Speechless? First time for everything I guess… πŸ˜‰

    Please update your blog more often. It’s a good kick in the pants when motivation withers…

  4. 1000+ km since Fall Colours????? Now I feel like a total slouch!
    Congrats on an amazing year of running and here’s to running in 2015!
    BTW, just bought running snowshoes. What a workout! Honestly, running one km is a serious work-out. Loving it though.
    Merry Christmas to you and D!

    1. Oooo! That sounds like a ton of fun! Where did you get them? Did you post about them? I need to see πŸ™‚

      Merry Christmas to you, M, E, and L too!!!!

  5. We bought our snowshoes at Trailhead, 25% off thank goodness because they are not cheap. I am trusting though that unlike the running shoes I have to constantly replace, these should last many years.
    Now I just need the snow to come back. Sadly it is all gone 😦

Leave a Reply

