Resolving To Be Resolute

When I was a little kid I excitedly looked forward to the start of a brand new school year. In particular I loved the freshness each new beginning proffered. Complete with crisp work books abounding with clean neat pages.

I would always start the new school year so meticulously. Writing with nothing but my most perfect penmanship. Everything pristine. Until the first screwup. An ink blob. A dog-eared page. A greasy-fingered french fry print. Whatever it was that blemished my efforts. And with that inaugural blight my endeavours at fastidiousness vanished.

As we enter 2015 it occurs to me that running, be it in training or in a race, can elicit similar behavioural responses in many of us.

We start our campaigns with hearty gusto. Determined to be more disciplined. Adamant about running ever faster. And then it happens. A bad week of training. A poor split time. And our resolve crumples.

But it needn’t be that way. And it shouldn’t be that way.

As we enter a fresh new year with all the high hopes and expectations of personal bests and Boston Qualifying times, we do well in remembering that there will be bad runs, missed workouts, and slow race times. It doesn’t mean we give up. It means we learn to fight.

The perfect run may be rare and fleeting. But reasons to enjoy the benefits of our sport, reasons to be grateful for our health and fitness, and reasons to be proud of giving it our best, are all plentiful.

Happy New Year.

And happy running!

6 comments

  1. I always tell myself those bad runs do nothing but make us stronger. Here’s to a fresh new year of running 🙂

    1. A good strategy indeed Kristi! Here’s to 2015 🙂

  2. “…expectations of personal bests and Boston Qualifying times…”

    Go for it! I’ll be cheering!

    🙂

    1. I was merely giving an example of what a runner may have as a goal. It doesn’t necessarily apply to me Raymond 🙂 Especially as I am no where near a BQ time, unless of course I was in my 100’s……..

  3. shawnasob · · Reply

    I quote ” that was a bad run.” – no one, ever. 🙂

    1. If only huh Shawn? 🙂

Leave a Reply

