On A Cold Winter’s Morn

To love someone deeply gives you strength. Being loved by someone deeply gives you courage   -Lao Tzu

In the thick darkness I kissed D goodbye. A pile of blankets laconically shrugged off his still slumbering form lay under my stockinged feet. Ah such nonchalant squandering of much vaunted warmth.

The temperatures plunged overnight and the roads were rendered slick. I donned my ice spikes for the first time this season and set out into the stultifying cold.

In the more than 2.5 hours of my training run I faced many a bitter wind and an armada of steep hills. My Gatorade had frozen solid. As had my jacket. Looking like an over-starched petrified torso, my jacket resembled battle armour, steeling me against Mother Nature’s onslaught.

Today was one of those days when it was just that much harder to want to be out there. Which made my running all the more satisfying when all was said and done.

With 30 kilometres under my belt I was welcomed home with a bowl of hot stew, a fresh mug of coffee, and several plates of ready to eat fruit.

Not to mention D. Smiling tenderly at me from under a mass of unruly tufts of sleepy hair.

Suddenly the winter cold no longer seemed all that bad.

7 comments

  1. shawnasob · · Reply

    So does your title have anything to do with Kenny Rogers’ “The Gambler” On a warm summer’s evenin’…:)

    1. LOL! No. I don’t even know the lyrics to The Gambler. Aside from the chorus 🙂

      1. shawnasob · ·

        Ha! Well that’s how it starts off! Just remember you gotta know when to hold ’em

  2. Braver man then I am. Mostly running indoors right now. Nicely done!!!

    1. Thanks Raymond!

  3. Around the Bay is going to seem easy for you!
    23 below with the windchill this morning but managed to do a slow 7k with the kids while doing an orienteering practice map. It was easier to forget about the cold when you mind was focused on finding the next control 🙂

    1. Good strategy there Kristi 🙂

      I can tell you I didn’t stay out long enough to get some strides in…….

Leave a Reply

