From Sweden With Love

image

I like to think of myself as having a creative streak. Sometimes the creativity leads to success. Sometimes it leads to comic hijinks and misadventure.

For this Valentine’s however, I think I did alright.

These cookies are a traditional Swedish dessert that are essentially flaky discs of pastry filled with frosting. Sounds darn good to me, right? Rolling the finished product in coconut was my own personal twist. I can’t wait to see how these taste later with D! They’ll serve as our dessert when we get home tonight and will cap off our Valentine’s dinner at a favourite local restaurant.

I will confess… I did sample a bit of the cookie. And I did sample a bit of the frosting. Purely for quality control purposes of course! But the two elements were not yet brought together. The whole being greater than the sum of its parts and all šŸ˜ƒ

From what little I could gather, the cookies will be a definite favourite.

Oh! And for those with a keen eye and an uncanny memory, yes the teddy bear and heart were also made by me for D’s Valentine’s present 2 years ago.

Here’s a link to the recipe. I did take the suggestion to double the frosting recipe. Double the frosting? You don’t have to ask me twice!

http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/11235/swedish-cream-wafers/?internalSource=rotd&referringId=846&referringContentType=recipe%20hub&referringPosition=3

Leave a Reply

