Quite Simply The Easiest Cheesecake You’ll Ever Make

D. is on his way home. He’s been working hard at a 3 day conference and this will be the first chance we get to spend time together all weekend. So I thought, let’s do something special. But at the same time, something quick and easy because it’s been a busy couple of days for me as well and time is a-ticking.

I came across this recipe on my Facebook feed and it looks absolutely fantastic!

http://www.lifeloveandsugar.com/2014/02/25/no-bake-samoa-cheesecake/

It’s the prototypical “no muss, no fuss” but looks like a million bucks.

But as is typical of me, I couldn’t just stick to the recipe. I didn’t want chocolate; I wanted berries. No oreos, but I do have vanilla wafers. And really, I don’t want to go through the effort of making a sauce, so I decided to water down some mixed berry preserves that have been sitting in my fridge and make a sauce out of that. Oh! And since there’s only two of us, I thought, better make it a 6″ cheesecake as opposed to 9″. There’s still plenty for seconds and thirds!

This is what I came up with:

IMG_3237

For this smaller edition, I took a cup of crushed vanilla wafers and 2 tablespoons of butter for the crust. So half what was in the original recipe. For the filling I used two 8-oz blocks of cream cheese, a cup of Cool Whip, a half cup of sugar, and a tsp of vanilla. About 2/3rd’s the original recipe for the filling minus the coconut extract and caramel sauce. I then swirled my melted down & diluted preserves through the filling and topped it all off with some more Cool Whip. EASY!

To tell you the truth, I can’t remember the last time I used Cool Whip or Whipped Cream from a can. I prefer to beat whipping cream and stabilize it with some gelatin so it doesn’t go runny. But you know what? The Cool Whip really fit my requirements of “quick and easy” and it didn’t go runny on me.

So if you’re in a pinch for a quick dessert try the link above. Tinker with it like I did if you want. After all, what’s life without a little whimsy? We can’t always follow the rules, right?

On that note, I’ll sign off for now as D. will be home any moment now.

Bon appetit!

5 comments

  1. Looks yummy! I could never be a cook since I have no willpower and everything would be gone the same evening. Gotta say, the original looks better (since I am addicted to chocolate and only slightly less addicted to caramel…).

  2. I want some of that!

    1. If we lived closer together, our combined culinary prowess would leave you, me, D., and Godzillapin each quite a bit heavier. ๐Ÿ™‚

      How are you feeling post-race? Did you two have a celebratory meal?

      1. What an awesome idea! One can always daydream, eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      2. We did have a celebratory meal, actually! I’ve just written a post about it! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

