Within Every Good Cook Is An Even Better Improv Artist

Have you ever had that sneaking suspicion that you were forgetting something? And then realized that that sensation was in fact coupled with a sensation of déjà vu? Like when you go grocery shopping and forget to pick up something? Two days in a row.

You guessed it. Happened to me. Just now. And of course yesterday.

So here I am looking to bake a special dessert for D and I have no flour.

Go the flourless chocolate cake route? Sure. It’s classic. And always a favourite.

But how about something outside the box? Bringing some MacGyver-like improvisational skills to the (kitchen) table as it were?

This is the result:

pickerimage

Inspired by a Filipino recipe called Bibinka, or what in my house we always called Mochiko, I created an Oven-Baked Coconut French Toast with Cherry Creme. The toast component is composed of home-made coconut bread that I baked yesterday when I threw in coconut flakes to dry up the overly-wet dough when I realized I was out of flour (see above). And the batter is made of eggs, milk, sugar, vanilla bean, and rice flour (Mochiko brand in this case. Not a product plug. Just explaining the reference to the Mochiko cake). With the whole thing being topped off with a sweetened whipped cream with summer-ready sweet cherries mixed in.

Side Note: I even had to MacGyver a piping bag out of a ziploc bag when I realized I was fresh out of those too!

The result is a refreshing take on an old classic.

Because breakfast isn’t just for breakfast anymore!

6 comments

  1. shawnasob · · Reply

    Way to adapt and overcome. Truly a Macgyver moment!

    1. Thanks Shawn! I really need to start making lists…….. 🙂

    1. Thanks Jackie! Thankfully it tasted really good too 😀

  2. You should run out of flour more often. (Sorry, it sounds like a hex upon someone who loves baking, but it seems to bring out your skillz.)

    1. LOL! Thanks NT….. Improv in the kitchen, It’s like the adrenaline rush of a good race, no? 🙂

Leave a Reply

