It’s All About The Photo

I have the distinct pleasure of running with an incredible group of people twice a week. Speed work on Tuesdays. And an ultra aggressive tempo that invariably disintegrates into an all out race every Thursday.

Through it all we are highly supportive of each other and have quickly developed bonds that come from pushing each other week in and week out.

The fun always comes through. Particularly when it’s time for the post-run photo. We even joke that our running is merely a pretence to get everyone out for a pic. That if we were professional models, we would just be misted down to make it look like we are glistening with sweat. But since we aren’t models, we have to earn that sweat.

Here’s today’s pic. Everyone one, every single person in this picture, with the exception of me, has qualified for Boston at least once.

I have work to do.

image

22 comments

  1. Lesson #1: posing with a bike instantly makes a person look super hardcore.
    Lesson #2: don’t read Rod’s blogs on days I run less than 10 miles because #inferioritycomplex.
    Lesson #3: everything is super inspiring after 3 glasses of gin and tonic on a weekday afternoon (don’t judge, it’s summer, which lasts all of 40 days in Metz, the armpit of Europe).

    1. #1. As I’m the runt of the litter, I need the bike to keep pace.
      #2. LOL! Says the woman who has #runfurtherthanIEVERhave.
      #3. No judgments. Ever. Wish I was there in the armpit with you!

      1. Yo, dude’s got the wrong impression of this Turtle, man… Just because I stupidly signed up for a 50-miler doesn’t mean I ran farther than you did, especially not when I #DNFed.
        I’m gonna say to you what I say to all my Australian friends. Stop wishing you were here, and just come over here already!
        By the way did you know that older and harder cheeses go better with gin and tonics than creamy blue cheeses? Of course, this is based purely on the comparison between Salers (semi-hard uncooked, aged 9 months) and Saint Agur (soft blue, raw, aged 2 months), both from Auvergne and only recommended if you’re a fan of the saltier varieties. We have a bottle of rosΓ© from Provence and a Saumur sparkling both chilling in the fridge too… it’s purely a matter of finding the right cheeses to go with them.
        Failing that, we’ll probably just have to pair that stuff with our Belgian chocolate (but I really don’t want to because I’m more a chocolate-with-red-wine person).
        COME TO FRANCE! I NEED A GOURMET BUDDY!

  2. That is a pretty hardcore looking group! I’m gonna need to work on getting a gang together here in London – I don’t care how they run, as long as they look cool.

    1. Love it!

      Some runners inspire people to run. Run faster. Run longer. Or just plain RUN. Others of us inspire kick-ass group pics ☺️

      Thanks Trevor!

  3. Looks like an album cover for a hardcore band

    1. The debut album “Run Tough” by The BQ’s featuring Rod πŸ’ͺ🏽

      Thanks Joey!

  4. You guys are super intimidating!! πŸ™‚

    1. Lol thank you Momma ☺️

      You can barely make out an outline on the left side of my shirt. But the outline is a smiling peach — the logo for Jerry’s Peachbud 5k. I’m a real bad boy πŸ˜›

  5. Everyone looks tough and hardcore…except Rod. Rod just looks PISSED!

    1. I’ll have you know that this pic was officially selected by others apart from me. And it was selected for my “million dollar face”. So there! πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‰πŸ’ͺπŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½

      1. You. Look. Pissed.

        I am afraid….

      2. Better hope that bird you saved bails you out πŸ˜‹

      3. Glad you are 900 miles away….
        πŸ˜‰

      4. Ya that’s right you are 😈😀

        May I offer you a cupcake Raymond? πŸ˜‡

      5. Bought a 6 pack this afternoon. Peanut butter cup (x2), cookies & cream, smores, piΓ±a colada, and lemon meringue. Whacha got for me? ( I do recall a promise of delivered baked goods from a 1man charity marathon donation level…I just assume you are still lost in traffic…) 😜

      6. Ah yes… That offer was restricted to 416 area code residents. Though I will make an exception for you should you come to my fair city – on condition that you go for a run with me.

      7. Run FROM you count?

  6. widhopoenya · · Reply

    It reminds me, that sometimes me n my group ended up our photo session more than our running session *lol*

    anyway, that’s one super cool photo…!!

    1. Lol! Sounds like you know exactly what I mean πŸ˜ƒ

      Thanks for the compliment! πŸ‘πŸ½

  7. Cool picture!, Might photoshop myself into it

    1. Lol! Glad you like. Thanks Bill πŸ‘πŸ½

Leave a Reply

