On Hopes & Dreams & The Courage To Try

I have goals as a runner.

I have goals outside of running as well. But as this blog focuses (primarily) on my sometimes valiant attempts at being a runner, I will pester you, my dear reader, with only that which concerns my running.

At least for the time being.

Some of these running goals, without bothering to elaborate too explicitly, are quite lofty by my own humble standards. And I have come to realize that I may actually achieve them. And also that I may not.

In the meantime however, I will endeavour to do everything I possibly can to accomplish these goals.

I will at the very least try.

I deserve to at least try.

Try and see what my best really is. Try and see if I can make my dreams a reality.

And when all is said and done, to have the courage to try — in any area of life — is all we can ask of ourselves really.

The all too sad thing about life is that many times we don’t try. We’re afraid of committing. We’re afraid of failing. And sometimes, just sometimes, we’re also afraid of succeeding.

But if we have a dream, and we all have dreams, we ought to try, we ought to reach for them. We owe ourselves that much.

Unfortunately in life, even if we do try our darnedest, things may still not work out the way we had hoped. We still might not get the “happily ever after” of our dreams.

But then again what if, just what if, we do?

8 comments

  1. I notice the use of plural in this post. I am pretty sure I know one running dream, and I would suspect the biggest dream. Are the others just steps towards the big one? Or are there bigger ones that I am unfamiliar with?

    I achieved my big running related goal last year (it was more modest) and I have struggled this year partially because I have not found a new dream to capture my imagination. Dreams can be empowering…

    1. Dreams are very empowering! And I agree that after achieving one it can be a struggle to find that new source of inspiration. You see it Olympians as a for instance. After decades of pursuing Olympic glory, once achieved, there’s often a sense of “now what?” That the athlete experiences.

      Hope you find your new dream soon. And looking forward to your making it a reality 😃

      1. I started a reply, but it grew to be pretty long winded, so I posted it on my blog instead. Here’s a link:

        https://roadtomadison.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/when-dreams-die-and-when-are-they-really-needed/

  2. Spot on when you say that sometimes we hold ourselves back because we are afraid to succeed. I recall the sense of loss after completing my first marathon, a feat so monumental back then, that achieving it left a hole in my soul. Fortunately, it was temporary (at any rate it healed faster than my injuries) but even now, I still catch myself engaging in self sabotage…

    1. I went through a similar patch right after my first marathon too NT. For so long that was the focus, the goal, the everything in running. And when it was done, or more accurately when the high of the race was gone, I felt very lost.

      Was it similar for you?

      1. One of the biggest reasons I succeeded was to prove my detractors wrong (the most vocal among them being GP’s mother, who assured me that I was doomed to fail, because her physiotherapist ran a marathon before, thus making her an expert on the subject of course). So when I did complete the marathon and proved my point, the euphoria lasted about 2 weeks before I learnt that the silence of an opponent can be deafening.
        Outside influence aside, it’s exactly how you described it. I think first time is always the best and the worst – as experienced runners we recover faster so we don’t sit around moping, and as we race more often, the significance of each race is diluted so both the post-race glory and the blues are diluted. I think if I were to re-live the buzz again, I would have to do something really extreme, like go into space?

  3. At any rate, I just wish to add that you are truly an inspiration to the running community here, and please keep being true to your dreams. You are clearly rocking the running streak and whatever your ultimate goal may be, failure to achieve is a thousand times better than failure to try. ☺

    1. Thanks NT! I appreciate your support and friendship 😃

      And congrats to you for racing so well on trails that are as mortally dangerous as they are visually stunning! I could never do what you do!

Leave a Reply

