Trying To Do The Right Thing

Another week. Another Tempo Run that has went wrong. Was it the cold? Was it trying to go too fast too early? Or was it my continued attempt to lose weight?

Another week. Another Tempo Run that had me feeling like I had no power. The rest of my running has been fine and has actually started to show improvement.

I’m lighter. But not by much. I’m leaner. Considerably so. According to an article I’ve read on weight loss and marathon training, I can probably afford to keep restricting my calories (in modest amounts) until the end of the month. At that time, I will need to eat more in order to be strong enough to train effectively through the ramp up portion of my regime.

In the meantime I struggle wondering if I’m doing the right thing. Am I losing valuable weeks of Tempo training? Or will the weight loss ultimately pay off?

I’m not an elite athlete. There are no endorsements on the line based on how fast I run in May. So I’m trying to have fun with this. See if the weight loss will help.

After all, it is all just for fun. Right?

4 comments

  1. That's what she said! No seriously, it was. · · Reply

    Hi there! I know the feeling with regards to running and feeling like you’re drained of all energy! Sometimes it’s an effort just to put one foot in front of the other let alone run a long distance! I’m a regular runner, and training for a half marathon from Monday so I’ve got all of the loveliness to come haha, but keep at it. After a few days you might find your body is back to its normal self and you’re full of energy again. In the meantime, make sure you’re fuelling your body with the right stuff. I saw you’re trying to lose weight, but take everything in moderation, ensuring you’re getting enough carbs and good fats to keep you going. After all, you’re burning it off anyway! Good luck!!

    1. Thank you for your feedback and encouragement!

      And good luck to you in your training and race 😃😃😃

  2. It is for health and fun. You have the health. Keep it fun…

    1. Thanks Raymond 🤗

Leave a Reply

