Spring Is Almost Here

Stepping into the light was not only a literal event when I took to the streets for this morning’s run, it was also a most welcome metaphor.

With the days getting noticeably longer, it really is uplifting to at last feel the sun’s rays beating down on me while the city still sleeps.

I could feel the change of mood in my stride as well. I felt lighter. Energized.

They say that long nights and grey weather can really have a negative impact on our sense of wellbeing, but what isn’t always made explicit is how the opposite also holds true.

It feels fun to be outside again!

Giddily my pace quickened as birds sang choruses to herald a new day.

Spring is almost here.

4 comments

  1. Yep. If it wasn’t for my chest cold, I would gleefully be running outside this weekend. But good running weather is returning!

    1. Yay!!!

      Hope you’re feeling better 😃

  2. I’m thankful the days are getting longer again 🙂 I can only imagine how it must feel to be done with the snow and cold.

    1. Not sure if we’re done I’m afraid. But it is nice to see daylight before 7a.m.!

Leave a Reply

