Thoughts In The Car Ride To The Finish

Something went wrong today and I’m not sure why. As we clicked past the 20 km mark of a 30 km reconnaissance run of The Around The Bay Road Race course, I started to falter. I had already went through a full bottle of water and 5 energy gels. But I still couldn’t get any fuel into my cells.

I had no energy.

I began to walk. A lot. And I hadn’t even reached the much vaunted hills of the course. 25 kilometres in and I reached our final aid station. Exhausted, defeated — at least for this morning, but oddly upbeat, I climbed into the backseat of the car and gratefully accepted the ride back to the finish.

My body isn’t hurt. I don’tΒ feel sick. I just could not get my legs going. I really can’t remember the last time this happened so early into a long slow run.

Could it be the last couple of weeks of intense training has caught up? Will some rest do the trick? I really don’t know.

What I do know is that with 2 weeks to go until the race, my taper has arrived just in time.

10 comments

  1. Sorry it didn’t go as hoped Rod! Sounds like your body is ready for that taper, you will be well rested in two weeks. And 25k sounds like a good distance covered two weeks prior to race day and after so many long runs!

    1. Thanks Kristi! I should still have find hill elevation data from a friend of mine who fared better than I did today. So we’ll still have study material πŸ˜ƒ

      I think it’s time for some R&R.

  2. my26pointtwo · · Reply

    Rest, eat, repeat. You will come back stronger. No panic just take the lesson and move on. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! I like that advice and I appreciate the encouragement πŸ˜ƒ

      How’s your ankle feeling? Looks like you got in a good run today πŸ˜ƒ

  3. Sounds like perfect training to me. The idea is to hit your peak on the last day of pre-taper training so that you can hit your true peak on race day.The trouble is, we don’t know where our peak is. If we under-train, we don’t know how much more that we could have done.

    You, my friend, have over-trained. But your body screamed for mercy in the last few miles of your final training run. You know that you could not have done more. Two weeks of tapering will find you in perfect position on race day…lean, trained, strong, hungry.

    2016 is your year!

    Proud of you Rod!

    1. I’m taking this as “doctor’s orders” πŸ˜ƒ

      Thanks Raymond!

  4. Rod wish I know the answer; could have been not enough sleep – I think that was an issue for me. We will do better next time though i’m sure. πŸ™‚

    1. We will Bill! You know it.

  5. I am sure all will go well on the day of your race Rod. You have worked hard for it πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Nandini! πŸ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

