Midway Through One Week Off: Continued Meanderings & Excerpts From “A Portrait Of The Runner As A Middle-Aged Man”

Today I woke with daylight streaming through my windows. A benefit of not having to work until this afternoon. But a peculiar experience all the same as I would normally have been up hours prior, even if my first appointment was not ’til noon.

Awake in darkness. Out in darkness. Running in darkness.

This has been my norm for quite some time now.

Taking the week off running is like a vacation. A vacation where I still have to work. As in work work. But a vacation nonetheless. I guess it’s been so long since I’ve had a good getaway that I’m now sated to call sleeping until past daybreak a veritable vacation.

Note to self that this must be addressed with due haste.

I do find myself more relaxed though. A product perhaps of finally getting some decent sleep after a couple of months of modicum REM patterns.

It’s a funny thing this overtraining. I run to relax myself. So when the first signs of stress popped up I ran more to combat the stress. Only to feel more stress as my sleep became affected. So I ran more.

And then poof! I’m overtrained without seeing it coming.

Apparently the signs were there. Palpable to all. Patently obvious, dare I say, to a precious few. Yet I remained somehow and somewhat oblivious — despite some niggling suspicions.

Come to think of it, I’m fairly certain my coming out process could be summed up in the same manner. Reread the paragraph above and you’ll get what I mean. (It’s funny because it’s true 😊)

Maybe I’ve always been a smidge slow at getting to know myself. Maybe this week will help with that. It’s that or I continue to use my extra time doing anatomy and physiology review. But even I find the subject of me more interesting than being immersed in medical text.

Saturday will be my first run since last weekend.

That’s not too far away.

Is it?

4 comments

  1. ” I run to relax myself. So when the first signs of stress popped up I ran more to combat the stress. Only to feel more stress as my sleep became affected. So I ran more.”

    This is exactly what happens to me. But replace stress with anxiety. Even when I know I should rest I find it hard to do so. After that DNF I’ve been even more anxious. Balancing rest and running is the most difficult thing to deal with in running I think.

    I’m glad though that you got rest – its going to be great to see you back at 100% 🙂

    1. Thanks Bill. And I’m glad you’re looking at your DNF as a challenge to yourself. It in no ways defines you and it certainly does nothing to detract from all you have achieved.

  2. Just sending word to say – please keep writing, reflecting, and continuing on the path to self-improvement. You shine a bright beacon of light in a moment of darkness for me, and continue to inspire me with your wisdom, your growth and your self-discovery. Thank you for everything, Rod. ❤

    1. Thanks NT!

      We belong to a wonderful community as runners. We are all flawed. We all struggle at times. But somehow we persevere. We cheer each other on. We help each other through. We encourage each other. And somehow we make it through. Together. And for that we can certainly celebrate.

Leave a Reply

